31st January 2017 – A published journal paper co-authored by several WCC researchers had won the 2016 IEEE Communication Society (ComSoc) and Vehicular Technology Society (VTS) best paper award. The award was presented during ComSoc / VTS Joint Chapter annual general meeting held on the 14th of January in Shah Alam. The paper, which entitled ‘A Comprehensive Survey of Pilot Contamination in Massive MIMO—5G System’ was published in IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials journal. It was among several nominated papers that had been screened by the ComSoc/VTS Joint Chapter committee and was selected as a recognition of its contribution to the field of communications and vehicular technology. Congratulation to Dr. Olakunle Elijah, Dr. Bruce Chee Yen Leow, Prof. Dr Tharek Abd Rahman, Dr. Solomon Nunoo and Dr. Solomon Zakwoi Iliya as co-authors of the awarded paper.

Dr. Elijah (leftmost), Prof. Dr. Tharek and Dr. Bruce receiving the best paper award.