Lightwave Communication Research Group (LCRG)

Research in photonics started at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering as early as 1986 under the Optic Research Group. The Lightwave Communication Research Group (LCRG) was formed in 2006 for photonic based research at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia. LCRG is the home of experienced researchers in the field of photonics and telecommunications. LCRG is equipped with the state-of-the-art facilities that are to realize the simulation, fabrication and characterization of optical devices and systems. The group is involved in R&D and consultation services that are related to photonic based telecommunication devices, system and technology. We are committed in developing and testing new products that will further enhance Malaysian’s progress in the area of science and technology. One of our aims is to actively making R&D efforts to successfully come up with optical communication devices and systems. We are constantly increasing our capabilities in providing first class system design, consultation services and calibration of optical measurement equipment. LCRG is actively involved in R&D and services related to photonics based telecommunication devices, systems, network and technology.

Areas of Interest:

Optical Communication Devices based on:
  • Microelectromechanical System (MEMS)
  • Polymer
  • Sol-gel derived material
Optical Communication Systems:
  • Radio Over Fiber
  • Free-Space Optics
  • Optoelectronics Circuit System
Optical Communication Network:
  • Photonics Physical Layer
  • Routing and Transport System
  • Optical Bandwidth Management
Optical Sensors:
  • Fiber grating sensor
  • Fiber laser
  • Specialty fiber sensor
  • Spectroscopy based sensor

Research Members:

  • Dr. Asrul Izam bin Azmi (Head of Research Group)
  • Prof. Ir. Dr. Abu Sahmah bin Mohd Supa’at
  • Prof. Dr. Sevia Mahdaliza Idrus Sutan Nameh
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mohd Haniff bin Ibrahim
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nor Hisham bin Haji Khamis
  • Assoc. Prof. Ir. Dr. Nadiatulhuda binti Zulkifli
  • Dr. Muhammad Yusof bin Mohd Noor
  • Dr. Ahmad Sharmi bin Abdullah
  • Dr. Mohd Rashidi bin Salim
  • Dr. Muhammad Al Farabi bin Muhammad Iqbal
  • Dr. Arnidza binti Ramli
  • Dr. Nurul Ashikin binti Daud


Dr. Asrul Izam Azmi

Head (Lightwave Communication Research Group)

School of Electrical Engineering
Universiti Teknologi Malaysia
81310 UTM Johor Bahru
Johor Darul Ta’zim, Malaysia